RogMull

By RogMull

Budget day..

Its not the only way I plan for a future retirement, but I am told this will hold about £1,000 in £2 coins. So far, feels like there might be about £12 in this particular retirement fund.

But I am one of the lucky ones in our society. I have been able to save some money in ISAs and save a pension pot. I have therefore been a beneficiary from today's budget, as I'll be able to save even more in ISAs and in time have much more access to my pension fund.

I will also gain a little since I am an income earner from the raising of the tax threshold.

But while I am a middle class winner, I fear for the poorest and most disadvantaged in our society. Don't be poor in our society. As Lorraine Podmore of financial advisors Frenkel Topping said of today's budget: " it will lower the living standards of those in receipt of benefits."

So I feel very uneasy about anything I might gain, when so many of my fellow citizens will be the losers, and many won't even be able to save in a piggy bank like mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.