Medicine

I wonder what this bottle contained. I love the old pharmacy bottles. Real glass which has lasted the test of time. I have quite a collection, picked up around the banks and from the old middens that existed behind the old cottages before there was any such thing as a rubbish collection.

I don't care for plastic. I'm sure milk tastes better from glass, the Coca cola that we were allowed as a Sunday treat and still remained fizzy for the weeks that it took the three of us, small glass at a time, to drink. Childhood stomach aches had only one cure. A tablespoon of Milk of Magnesia from a stunning colbalt blue bottle, which can't be replicated in plastic. I no longer drink G&Ts. Tonic water wasn't designed to come out of plastic, or be laced with saccarin.

Enough said. I found this bottle in the garden. It's been there so long that the glass is becoming opalescent. I'm leaving it in the sunshine and to all that the weather can throw at it, to complete the process. It will be stunning in a couple of years time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.