Daylight

I had a really busy day at work today having arranged a couple of one hour one to ones around the classes I had. I also had to chase up stuff on the kitchen front.

I did manage to get a few times to test out the potential of the natural light in one of the classrooms for portrait shots. Not too bad I reckon.

As for the kitchen, the fitter, who in fairness, has been doing excellent work, on seeing the photos sacked his tiler and arranged to come out on Saturday and strip what is there then arrange for another tiler.

Thanks goodness for him, as the installations team at Homebase were not great. They seemed totally unsympathetic. I never got the call from the area manager I was promised last night and when I asked the guy I spoke to today he claimed no-one knew who the area manager was as there are four of them now and it's unclear. I also asked for advice on an ombudsman and he said there is one but it would be for me to find them and they wouldn't advise me. In truth he seemed more concerned at getting me to agree that I have a functional kitchen when as far as I'm concerned until the worktops are sealed and watertight I patently haven't.

He tried to tell me it would be fine to use it so I asked to have that in writing so that if anything happened to ruin the worktop they would be liable rather than Roz or I. He wasn't prepared to do that nor to respect my request to conduct further discussions via email so I had evidence of their claims should it become necessary to involve a lawyer or the ombudsman.

Anyway, hopefully next Wednesday it will finally be completed to a decent standard, then we'll see whether Homebase are capable of doing anything to make up for the massive delays they have caused.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.