Journey Through Time

By Sue

More Spring and Charlemagne

I took back my movie to the big red machine that spit it out to me yesterday, and snapped a few photos of daffodils on the way home and I liked this one. Those warm days we had earlier in the month really popped things out all over the place. Lots of trees in full flowering color such as you saw in yesterday's image. So nice to see, even though here in the Pacific NW we can't really complain about the winter. We had our snow event and some cold but not like our brethren in 3/4 our our country and most of Canada had. That was the mother of all winters it seems.

We watch some TV shows that are filmed in New York City and now the outside scenes are in that deep freeze that hit them this winter. I was wondering how difficult it must have been for them to film in that super cold winter.

And speaking of Charlemagne....what? No we weren't but I was discussing family history. I saw the funniest thing yesterday as I was wondering if there was a way I could figure out how much percentage English, French, German, etc. I would have in some easily applied program. In my search I came across a ladies post with a similar question. She'd found out she was related to Charlemagne, Ruler of Everything in the fun years of the late 700's and up to 814, and she was trying to figure out, for her children, how much of Charlemagne's ancient DNA/cells were handed down to them. Various people were telling her how to calculate that, but one guy reminded her that nearly everyone with European heritage are descended from Charlemagne. He told her to "remain humble". It made me laugh. One of my ancestors, Lydia (possibly Harrison) is my "gateway ancestor" to the royals if, in fact, she is the daughter of who everyone hopes she is the daughter of. It's not proven, so her family tree, at least going up the ladder, ends with a question mark.

Charlemagne had many wives and concubines and many, many children. A good article I just found is here.

I rented a movie for me to watch, as Bill wouldn't be interested in The Hunger Games - Catching Fire. I have read the books so I've been seeing the movies also. I'd forgotten that Phillip Seymour Hoffman was in those movies, I guess...and I felt sad that he is no longer with us.

Enough of this.....see ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.