Gitama's World

By Gitama

Day 7...Seventh Heaven

We had another small boat cruise…this time around Akaroa harbour and then out to sea to look for Hector Dolphins…….I was so excited to see them……they are small dolphins…the size of baby ones and apparently they love to follow the boats.
Well there wasn’t one to be seen in the 3hrs we spent out on the water…..not even a peek.
All was not lost though……..the coastline is a geologists dream……we floated around the Cathedral caves and lots of other caves hewn into the rocks…some of the rocks had colours of the rainbow……there was something so magnificent about them it brought tears to my eyes.
On some of these rocks (obviously not the coloured ones) we found a colony of fur seals..their little faces so sweet…..most of them were having a sleep but this one I thought looked rather regal and he was very interested…Flynn will love him.
We turned a corner and came across quite a few baby ones…some were crying in the caves for their mothers…it was echoing and sounded so eerie…….The weather was rather cloudy and the mist and clouds were spilling over the high rocks again…took some more rather mystical shots….Akaroa is such a beautiful place.

It really is so hard to know what to post there is so much I would love to share but….perhaps when I get back I will post some more on blipfolio. It is still costing an arm leg and two toes to post everyday……..I was a bit lazy to take my computer into town today and sit in a cafe…..so much to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.