Day 6....A Small Boat Trip Around Paradise

What to say….Today was marvellous….. blossoming into a beautiful clear and sunny blue sky…unlike yesterday which turned into pea soup…The difference was wild.
We docked early at Port Chalmers Dunedin ……My friend and I got onto a little boat and went out to Otago Penninsular where we were greeted by so much wildlife….it was hard to know where to look…let alone what to post.
We saw
Loads of shags..cormorants…black swans ….pied oyster catchers …..terns (several different types)……fur seals…..king albatross (rather magnificent birds….and very very big we were very lucky to see them flying)
Oh yes….a very rare yellow eyed penguin……a pod of dolphins and to top it all off 2 humpback whales….it all brought tears to my eyes…so many amazing characters to see and then the whales……..a lady that worked on the boat had not seen one for 20 years in that bay…….how absolutely lucky were we.
It was a bit difficult to get some of the shots I wanted from the boat..it really was rather rocky…….I was dreaming of how some LE shots of the bay would be rather awesome..not to be.
The land and seascape here is absolutely gorgeous…….and all the pics that I took show just one part of it……I’m almost tempted to post the yellow eyed penguin……..However I have decided to post the beautiful Black Swans…I loved the layers to this pic.
The rest of the day was equally wonderful…the town of Dunedin was so beautiful……but now …again really tired and we have another early start in the morning…and I would like to be up for sunrise again.

AN: After all said and done I decided to post the Penguin for Flynn.....He was sitting on his own near some containers on the docks.....I reckon they nailed his foot to the floor for all us two leggeds that have traveled thousands of miles to see him. We were told a very rare sighting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.