Empty

This morning I drove hubby and kids to Charleroi airport for a flight to Manchester where they would meet my parents who then drove back to Newcastle with the kids, and hubby waited for a return flight to Belgium. We decided that it would be best for everyone if the kids didn't have to cope with the actual move as we knew we'd all be very stressed (and looking back now it was such a good decision).
The kids were super excited about going on a plane and spending time with Grandma and Granddad and their cousins. I knew I would find it difficult but when it came to say goodbye to them at Charleroi airport I had to use all my strength to hold it together in front of them but when I watched them walk away I just crumpled. I know that sounds soppy but the feeling of emptiness and terror if anything should happen to the plane that the three of them were on was almost to unbearable for me to manage. I nearly missed my turning on the way home because I was crying so much! I'm so soft!
Anyhoo, hubby phoned me as soon as they landed to say everything had gone really well so I could stop worrying. I threw myself into packing and doing trips to the new house and basically worked my socks off. I completely emptied the kid's bedroom (apart from all the big furniture) and the above blip is actually of their toy box which again holds special memories as I had it made in Oman.
This evening I face timed Mum and Dad and witnessed the kids having a great time as Dex was sitting on my Dad's back as he crawled around the floor laughing his head off and Olivia was dancing around wittering on and on. They were absolutely fine and clearly not missing me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.