If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Beside the lake, beneath the trees, .........

Earlier in the year when I did a Daffodil blip I suggested I would probably later blip Wordsworth's Daffodils. Well today is the day.

We had been out to visit the holiday lodge as there have been no guests for a week or two and decided to come back by the lake. I assume people are familiar with Wordsworth's poem "I wandered lonely as a cloud". Well we visited Glencoyne where on 15th April 1802 William and Dorothy Wordsworth saw their "host of golden daffodils". Well they (the daffodils not the Wordsworths) are still there. They have survived the ravages of the modern world and the many tourist visit (including ourselves there were 4 photographers there). There aren't, I don't think enough to see 10,000 at a glance as William did but still quite a lot.

I wanted to concentrate on the habitat they are found in for a couple of reasons. Firstly I hate the modern trend of putting lots of large flowered hybrids out in the open in serried ranks. Secondly these are the only truly wild unadulterated Daffodils that I know of. I hope the shot gives you the feeling of their habitat.

If any one doesn't kn9w the poem it can be found here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.