Lifting my eyes to the hills

This afternoon, I did my (unofficial) Irongray litter pick, along the stretch of road between our house and Routin Bridge. I found it really hard to keep looking at the ground - I realise how I'm always looking up as I walk in the countryside - either scanning the sky, trees and bushes for birds or looking up at the hills.

As soon as I'd finished, and sorted the rubbish for recycling (mostly plastic bottles), I set off up those hills. It just wasn't a day to be indoors.

I walked up to the Communion Stones, where this monument was put up in 1870 to commemorate a secret communion held by the Covenanters in the summer if 1678. About 3000 people took part, and the stones they used (? to sit on) can still be seen around the monument, arranged in long rows. Encouraged by the wonderful weather, I carried on to Bishop Forest hill and Skeoch Hill before heading back for a welcome pot of tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.