One Watercolor a Day

Routines…another word for doing something over and over. I have a friend, a wonderful painter, who does a pencil sketch every day. Many of us are uncomfortable without routines, but also love to get away from them on what we call "vacations" or "holidays". I added a new one today, based on a book I got for my birthday (along with a beautiful set of paints, an easel and a stool) called One Watercolor a Day".

Finding time for this caused me to ruminate upon the things I do routinely every day and why. Some I do automatically, some I schedule for a particular time of day, either because it must be done that way, or because it has become part of a greater routine, and a few things I look forward to because I enjoy them.

A partial list of things I do every single day (in no particular order):

Take vitamins
Take at least one photograph
Publish it on Blipfoto
A number of things related to hygiene. I will leave the specifics to you, since you probably do most of them too)
Drink coffee
Do some form of exercise
Apply a potion (medication or placebo, I know not which) for a study I am participating in for a year for my dermatologist
Make the bed
Drink wine
Read
I think about meals every day. Sometimes that's all I do. Then we go out.

Today's watercolor was to produce the color wheel with primary, secondary and tertiary colors. I would have done more, but was disrupted by a bunch of things that don't happen every day. David came to tear out the wood floor in the guest bathroom. I saw my Pilates trainer and got my calf/ankle taped where a cramp ripped through it (literally) a week ago. I went to the art supply store for some ink, and spent a pleasant hour looking at all the paints, crayons, pencils, brushes and paper.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.