Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Perton Ridge Sunrise

Sometimes it's worth persevering. I drove down to this location after noticing the mist swirling in the street at 5:15 am. Unfortunately, despite the mist having thickened by the time I reached the footpath that takes you to this vista, the sun was resolutely blocked by low cloud.

It didn't mean there weren't opportunities for good shots, but one of the glories of mist is when it is lit up by the low sun, giving a diffuse glow to the sky.

I happily walked around taking various shots of these and other trees. I walked down the footpath and walked along the base of the hill. All of the time the light was getting better. I almost decided to walk up the road back to the car but something sub conscious must have made me retrace my steps.

By the time I got back this scene was before me.

Technical: A straight shot, underexposed to preserve some (but not all) of the highlights. I brought back the shadow detail using the basic black and shadow sliders in Lightroom. I couldn't recover the detail in the area of the sun. Finally a light vignette.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.