Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Best View of the Day

A bit different from yesterday!

Before I go any further I just wanted to express my thanks for the response to yesterday's journal entry. From your comments, stars and hearts I get the feeling you rather liked it. 30 Hearts is only just behind my most favoured image. I had a feeling it would be well received, but..........WOW! You've made me very happy.

Now if only I could have followed it up with another cracker. Unfortunately the conditions were not conducive. It does highlight the vagaries of landscape photography. You are very much at the mercy of the conditions you find. You can be in the right place have a pleasing composition, but if the light is not working with you, it can't begin to approach that magical moment you might have hoped to capture.

I think you probably realise that I do increase the odds by being out early as often as possible. I am waking up usually well before 5 am at the moment. I can't explain why. I know the birds are fairly active and noisy outside the bedroom window but I'm not sure that is the reason. It is worth it when you get a morning like yesterday. An iconic outdoor photographer from America, Galen Rowell, was often quoted as follows "You only get one sunrise and one sunset a day, and you only get so many days on the planet. A good photographer does the math and doesn't waste either".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.