Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

One Left Standing

Well, the cat is out of the bag! I won! I'm rather relieved that I can now share the news that I was first told on Tuesday! To say I was shocked is an understatement. Since then I've been providing quotes, new self portraits (did anyone guess?) and generally soaking up the realisation that I had been chosen.

I'm obviously delighted. What I wanted to say though that winning is in no small part down to all of you and the larger Blip community. I've been contemplating drawing back from the daily blip for over a year but each time it seemed likely I was drawn back into the fold by your kindness. I couldn't leave, it would have been too painful. I'm now in for the long haul and have taken advantage of the lifetime offer. Sorry folks, I'm going to be around for some time to come.

So the fact that I was in Newlands Wood last November and took that and lots of other photos is all down to you. My heartfelt thanks to you all.

I had to visit Cannock Chase to check on some illegal burning this morning and took the opportunity to take some images of the early mist.

Technical: It really didn't take much processing. Slightly over exposed to maintain the softness of the scene. There was a 0.75 ND Grad on the sky to make sure it wasn't over exposed and is the reason the trunk of the tree is slightly darker higher up. Into Lightroom and then Silver Efex Pro to convert to B&W.

Ps Don't forget about the Blip meet tomorrow afternoon at Chesterton Mill. Not to late to join in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.