Shy

I can't even pronounce this wee man's name, let alone spell it. This makes me feel a tad ignorant. I speak four languages to varying degrees, two of them fluently, and yet Asian languages remain a complete mystery to me. I don't even know where to begin and I feel disinclined to try when it seems so out of reach.

I think I'll grab myself a few more European languages before I even think of tackling this herculean task!

So, anyway, back to this little dot. He is 2 years old and was hiding, safe between the Kimono of his mother and that of his father, happily eating a sour plum.

His parents had come to school to do a demonstration of how to make a rice ball to my colleague's Year 10 students. The kids were suitably impressed and we all got to make rice balls. Mine was tuna. Yum.

I was asked to take some photos for the Language Department Album.

Today was an average day to say the least.

Unrealistic expectations.

Things being handled in a less than professional way, leaving the victim (me) looking like the vilan (whoever it was who stole from me).

Unexpected phonecalls.

Anyway, ended up going to bed at 9.30 pm and am posting this on Saturday as I have just emerged from a marathon 12 hour sleep. I obviously needed it. Things don't look any prettier today but I am feeling more able to handle them.

That, plus the fact that I have two days off and then, in a week, the whole holiday not to be worrying about that sort of thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.