Family heirlooms

A bit of a mixed day today, with a lot of showers and quite low temperatures. I tried to use my time wisely by looking into the course material for the last week of the online course I'm doing via Coursera. The course is about Art and Inquiry in Education, and for the final assignment I'll have to make a plan for teaching a class using a work of art. Kind of difficult as I'm not a teacher. But I can hold talks and presentations about a wide range of subjects regarding SE Asian topics, so I decided to look into that. That meant choosing an object, preferably an object of art, that can be used during one of those talks. When browsing through folders on the computer didn't result in a subject I went to look for my paper folders and then found the big box with pictures regarding my grandparents again. And remembered I also have to produce an image referring to love by tomorrow. I found their engagement announcement card complete with invitation to a small reception and knew I had what I thought were my grandparents' wedding rings somewhere, when I got them to try out photographs I only then realised that these are actually their engagement rings (the Dutch usually don't or at least usually didn't have engagement rings with stones). They wore them all their lives since their engagement on 9 August 1931. Here's to Paula and Jaap !

Thanks so much for the comments and stars on yesterday's lilac buds !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.