Mikey88

By Mikey88

Field of Gold

At one time there would have been lots of people picking the daffodils in this and other fields locally, but the market has shrunk considerably and while there are still fields like this around the village, the days of having local daffodils on sale in Covent Garden by the early morning are long gone, and today there was just this single lady picking the ones which were still in bud.

I came across the field on a walk around the edge of the village. We did this walk shortly after we moved into the village (about twenty five years ago) and this is the first time I've done it since. As you can see, there are some fine views down to the estuary and with the weather as it was, there were some good cloud formations and even a rainbow as I walked back towards the village. Unfortuately, it was a bit faint, otherwise that may well have been my blip for the day.

I did pass a cottage along the footpath, with the biggest chimney I've ever seen. The fireplace inside it must have been as big as a small room. I would have loved to have a look at it from the inside. Tucked away down the end of a track, it mus be a nice place to live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.