Pete

A short run this morning took me to the end of K Road where it intersects with Symonds Street and Grafton Bridge. Just after I turned back, at the corner with Liverpool Street I heard some singing and chanting. I saw Pete in this pose. I stopped and introduced myself, at which he turned and stood and looked at me for a few seconds and then said "I'm Pete". I asked if he would mind me taking his photograph. Another brief pause, and then he said "Sure. Go ahead. And show it to as many people as you can. And tell them ..." He then replaced his leg on the pole, and started to sing again. I regret that I cannot recall the words. The essence was to treat people well.

Just after I took the photo, he thrust his stick hard into the pole. I said thank you and headed away. Passing three people wrapped in blankets or sleeping bag, lying on the footpath from where they would certainly be encouraged to go quite soon thereafter.

Another day at the hospital and then straight up to the beach for the first time in about four weeks. Great to be back.

I didn't tell Pete about blipfoto; was going to before leaving. When he crashed his stick into the pole, I thought I should just go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.