A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Redpoll

The reason for my posting this shot is the little bird on the right. It is a Redpoll and it is only the second one I have ever seen, let alone in our garden.

Last winter we had lots of birds including a Redpoll and Siskins which I had never see before. The Siskins were present all winter but we didn't see the solo Redpoll again.

This morning Chris spotted the Sparrowhawk at the bottom of the garden. I got my camera but by the time I had fixed my telephoto lens it of course had gone so I turned my attention to the feeders. The pink tinged bird was flitting about and at first I thought it was a Chaffinch.

Inevitably the Goldfinches appeared. These two are not quite in focus and the one on the left is looking rather quizzically at the Redpoll peering round the feeder which thankfully is reasonably crisp. The picture helped me confirm what it was so that made my blip decision for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.