A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

First Bee

This isn't the first bee I have seen but my first photo of one this year.

A lovely day to be in the garden. After putting my washing out I decided to wash the seats and benches that are left out all winter. The tables have covers but the chairs end up a little green, (when we did this two years ago we had three months of rain and barely used them so be warned!) I decided to wash my wellies too hoping I won't need them again for walking for a while but thinking they would be good for the forays down to the beach in Scotland when we go at the end of next month, cleaned my boots too. (I just know I am going to regret all this!)

This time last year was Easter and I commented in my blip that there was hardly any colour in the garden- there was still some snow, but this year couldn't be more different. From the kitchen window I can see a very vibrant pink at the very back of the garden. ( The top area of the garden is at eye level as we go up two lots of steps from the house level) Chris said it was the Flowering Currant. I couldn't believe it was so deep in colour. Heading off for a closer look with my camera I spotted the bees that have been busy around this Pieris for several weeks now. They seem to really like the delicate little flowers. Not expecting to get one to be still long enough I was surprised to see this one busy collecting around the side of the bush and still enough for me to get a reasonable picture. On the basis that the currant will be there another day I have gone with this as my blip, but I can confirm that it is exceptionally bright and full of flower so maybe a blip for another day.

After lunch and all that exertion, I confess to sitting in the conservatory with the door open finishing a jigsaw I bought on our trip to the USA nearly 3 years ago. It hasn't taken me 3 years but I did start it last autumn. It is from Zion National Park, my favourite from that visit and it was the riverbanks and trees that I gave up on late last year. You can see it here if you wish.

We are going to two more National Parks at the end of the summer so I may change my mind but I loved the intimacy of this one so I am sure it will remain a favourite.

British summertime starts tomorrow so even if we don't get the weather we will have the light evenings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.