Bedford house bus

Today I stopped and asked the owner about this bus.

Turns out it is a much loved house bus that by next summer should have a new paint job. Recently a wee fire place and chimney was installed. I had a look inside and it's very presentable. Sort of like our caravan in the '70's was, only bigger. I liked it a lot.

I've always liked this shape of bus. It's a classic NZ bus shaped and I was surprised to learn this bus was build in NZ in 1979. I've always thought of this shape as a classic 50's look. (Apparently they made them then too but the shape didn't change much). This one was built for the Mount Cook line and the side windows have the slanted lines many of their buses had.

A recent change to by-laws means house buses, caravans, camper vans etc can't be parked outside your house on the road for more than 7days. Sure enough, despite being parked down a wee dead end street outside Mr and Mrs House buses home, every 7 days a parking warden arrives on a motorbike and chalks the tyres.

Mr House bus owner drives the bus around the block and backs it back into position for another 7 days.

And thus the well oiled wheels of council turn ;-)

I'll catch up on journals tomorrow night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.