Rust never sleeps

I'm not a car person but if I had to pick a favourite it would probably be a Morris Minor. Maybe it's because a Morrie was my first car. It was old then and this Morrie is a lot older than mine was. This has the split windscreen and was born in '52. Mine was the 'modern' 1-piece windscreen and was born 10 years later.

I used to remove the rotor cap when I went out. Without one it wouldn't start so it was an additional security measure. I once arrived at a posh restaurant , the waiter bloke asked if he could take my coat. "No but could you please put my rotor cap and keys somewhere safe?."

;-)

Morries weren't quick off the mark and there used to be a car sticker '0 - 60 in 15 minutes' that found its way onto many Morries. I have fond memories of driving across the Hauraki Plains, three people and three laden tramping packs cruising at 60 miles per hour (close to 100km/h). That was about top speed. My life is no more richer for having a car that goes quicker now.

This Morrie has been stripped for parts and lives in a backyard of Morris Minor graves and partial resurrections. Blip heaven! I'll be back ;-)

I have more Morris Minor stories but I'll save them for other Morrie blips.

A huge thank you for the many comments, interest and subscriptions this series has sparked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.