Wayfarer

By wayfarer

School Project

Meet Flat Stanley, who arrived in the post from California a week ago to learn about England and our home town. He will be winging his way home tomorrow and hopefully finding his way back to Mrs Parr's class in Lincoln, California by April 10th. His arrival coincided with my operation so I haven't had the time I would have liked to show Stanley around.
I've gone out around town and used my camera to make little videos and quickly learned that it's best to have a bit of a script - I ended up with several takes as there were too many "Errs" & "Umms", not to mention the times I dried up. Lesson two was "Don't video on windy days"... Luckily, I've taken quite a few photos and I'm going make a little booklet.
Mrs Parr's class didn't pick me at random: Stanley was sent by Jack, who is the son of Kellie & Sean. In 1995, Kellie was a student on a high school trip to London which I guided. We became friends and have stayed in touch. The Stars and Stripes behind Stanley was signed Kellie's school and given to me at the end of the tour. It's been up in my study ever since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.