Grazing

The ennui I've felt this weekend was banished tonight by virtue of a blipmeet organised by Mr. John. A group of us went for a curry and then on to the Bradford Film Festival to watch Everybody Street, a brilliant film depicting the lives and work of New York's most iconic street photographers. It was really inspirational.

Perhaps even more inspiring, though, was the short film that preceded it about Flo Fox. To see someone so severely disabled yet still so tuned into the world and extracting so much from life sure helped put my own minor issues into better perspective.

It was a thoroughly stimulating evening. It will come as no surprise that it also had a few surreal moments. I would have expected nothing less with Mr. John in charge!

The weekend here has been almost uniformly grey, the general mistiness washing all the colour out of the landscape. I've noted in the past that I never seem to function well in this kind of weather. It's as if the thickness of the air weighs heavily upon my spirit, washing all the life out of me.

I struggled to work effectively this morning, trying to catch up a bit, and I procrastinated for ages over a ride on the bike. Although the conditions actually create some interesting photographic opportunities I still felt less than enthusiastic about going too far. In the end I just rode out to Burnsall and back, and the sun did eventually make a brief hazy appearance. It even got quite warm for an all too short spell. I'm sorely in need of feeling the heat of the sun on my skin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.