Christmas laneway

Wasn't sleeping ast night so came down and did some work until 8.00 am, then back to bed for recovery until 2-ish. Pals from the Music Group got back yesterday from their 2-week holiday in Australia (Sydney), so I met up with them so they could reminisce and show off their photos. After that, I really should have gone straight home but some perverse notion urged me to continue in to town to while away an hour or so. Perhaps I just wanted to take advantage of the City Council's decision (under much pressure) to relax the ridiculous bus gate system around College Green during December and into the new year. They really should just face facts and admit that they got this restriction utterly wrong. Perhaps they'll attempt a bit of face-saving operation by leaving the present relaxation in place and then later on use some other excuse to return things to the way they were before. I got a great kick this afternoon of driving around College Green at a time of day when since july it isn't possible to do so.

I'd parked in Trinity Street and walked around Wicklow Street and Grafton Street, just strolling and window-shopping (with a vague idea at the back of the head of perhaps getting something new to read). That's when I passed the corner of Johnston's Court and blipped this. The Christmas lights are no great shakes, either here or on Grafton Street itself -- indeed, the glow of the light streaming out from the shop windows was much more Christmassy.

IMPORTANT NOTE:
=================

I've gone back and filled in a few disfiguring gaps in my Blipfoto calendar, which at long last brings me totally up to date and brings back my uninterrupted record. The gaps concerned are:

2nd December 2008: Scene through a Window
3rd December 2008: Bird on a Rail
4th December 2008: Buskers observed

17th December 2008: The Pint that cheers
18th December 2008: Grandparents
19th December 2008: The Duck and I

and, completing the blips taken while I was hospitalised,

2nd June 2009: Over the Hedge
3rd June 2009: Waiting for Barney
4th June 2009: Made in Dublin
5th June 2009: Crest
6th June 2009: Self-portrait with Foot
7th June 2009: Don't fence me in
8th June 2009: Yummy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.