The Fair Isle test

Hearing the discussion on the radio this morning about the state of air pollution in southern England at the moment made me reflect on something that I do without thinking each morning while I'm on Shetland.

I apply the Fair Isle test. When I open the bedroom curtains, is Fair Isle visible?

If it's too dark to see it, I go back to bed.

If the cloud is too low (or the rain is battering on the window) so that I can't see Fair Isle I plan the day around waterproof clothing.

If I can see Fair Isle, and more critically pick out the radio mast near the top of Ward Hill (just over 26 miles away), I know that it's likely to be a decent day.

And if the weather is really rubbish, you might not even be able to see Lady's Holm, in the foreground here.

If you go large on the image - you might just be able to pick out the white blob that is the North Light it's roughly in the middle of the image.

1345/3387

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.