wingpig

By wingpig

it fought... and lost...

I really don't understand these modern children, nor their parents. Child demands ice-cream. Child is given ice-cream. Child takes three licks, eats the flake then leaves the ice-cream on the worktop where it proceeds to melt. Child demands muffin instead. Child is told to finish off the muffin it was provided with earlier before requesting an additional muffin. Child refuses to eat the slightly dried-out yet dribble-covered muffin, whines for a bit then is supplied with a fresh muffin. Child deposits muffin wrapper on floor. Child sneaks through and steals two flakes from the box on the worktop. Parent complains about sugar-fuelled child's behaviour for the remainder of the evening.

When I was small I wasn't given many sweets so when I got an ice-cream I ate the whole damn thing. They didn't have muffins back then but if they had I would have finished them off too. I would have then climbed a tree to use up the energy then read a book quietly, not been plonked in front of the telly at full volume over which people then attempted to conduct three conversations.

Anyway. We'd had a few moments of peace, quiet and entomology earlier in the day so a little bit of relation-related hassle could be withstood. I managed to get a little bit more plan enacted earlier in the morning too before heading through to Ayr, a journey amusingly lengthened by the large queues on the M8 after all the gas-fuelled kerfuffle at the airport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.