Just the two of us

Now, if I was adept at adding links, I would have linked to the song with the same title as above--but since I'm not, I'll just hum a little of it for you! The weather was atrocious early this morning when I left for work, with ice pellets coming down by the bucketfuls, & it's only improved a little bit since; the ice pellets stopped, but it's cold, windy wet & grey! I didn't feel like going back out, so today I blipped this piece of artwork. Back in our "younger days", & before we had our daughter, Tom & I travelled all over the U.S. by motorcycle. He's had all sorts of bikes----a Kawasaki, then a Honda V65 Magna, (built for speed--NOT for touring, though we DID tour on it), a Honda Goldwing (my personal favorite), a V-Max, & now a Harley sportster....we both loved it, but once you have a child you start to worry about being on the bike, or at least I did, as you're totally unprotected on a bike in case of an accident, & I didn't want to leave her without parents, so once she was born, we switched to the car! I bought this for Tom for his birthday one year, as I thought it was just so clever! The 2 figures are sparkplugs, the "tank" is a spoon, the front wheel is a wheel from an old cart, there's a nutcracker underneath as part of the frame, the muffler is a shell casing, & so on! The guy that made it has shown his sculptures all over the midwest, & they're amazing! Plus, it's a great reminder of our trips! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.