Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Day 4 Solace at Bratch Locks

this is The Man taking Solace through the flight of Bratch Locks, Kat & G are heading towards the next gates with the windlasses to let the water out of this one. It's more complicated than an ordinary lock, that's why we had a look at the instructions last night, just in case there wasn't a lock-keeper on duty. He was there but he could see we were managing without his help.

I'm feeling like getting out on deck today and doing things! I closed a lock gate! That was it! I was now ready, psyched-up for driving the boat through some locks. I don't want to do the driving on the ordinary bits because I want my hands free for the camera in case I see another kingfisher!

The sun shone after lunch but, unfortunately it rained a little while later. Fortunately we had a big brolly so The Mother and I could continue sitting out on the fore-deck for a while.

We reached our turning point today, midway through our journey now and heading back to the marina.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.