Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Meeting A Friend

This morning I arrived home after my few days in Chicago. The flight home was particularly pleasant and restful since I got upgraded to First Class!

After spending all week either on planes or in a classroom, I was eager to spend time outside today. I spent most of the afternoon sitting in my garden, even though it was a cloudy, cool day and I had to be covered by a blanket. But at dusk the clouds cleared and I was eager to go for a walk in hopes of seeing a colourful sunset.

This is a spot on a favourite walk of ours. The walk includes going through both fields and woods. I like to time it so that we are on this hill as the sun is almost on the horizon. I've even been known to pack a picnic during warmer weather and sit here to watch the sun go down.

We sat here for awhile and out from the woods came this lovely Labradoodle called Bramble. He and Dolly played for a few minutes and they seemed happy to meet each other. Dolly loves to play with big dogs.

When I picked up Dolly today, my dog-sitter's daughter said that she had taken Dolly on a 6-mile walk with another friend and her dog. She said that Dolly did just fine with that length of walk. I'm so proud of how well she does at age 14!

I'm home for 2 weeks now and am really happy about that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.