The Horns valley and looking over to Thrupp

I noticed today that the buds on the sycamore tree at the end of the garden are beginning to open. To me this signifies not only spring but also the end of the open views from my study across and over the Horns valley, which I treasure in the winter months. When the flowers and leaves abound, a large section of the valley becomes blocked off from view.

So I decided to record the scene straight out of the window, which I can see from this seat. The sky began to clear as the prevailing westerly winds brought a new air mass in from the Atlantic and freshened up the air. By the time I got my camera out the clouds were receding and within half an hour had disappeared completely. I prefer the view with some clouds to give a certain depth to the landscape as I look southwards across to Thrupp and Minchinhampton common on the far distant hilltops.

Helena is on holiday now for a few weeks and the weather is picking up for us all. I do like the springtime, but then I like all the seasons once they finally arrive.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.