Support

A lovely afternoon and evening spent in Bradford in the company of friends I've not seen for several years, and some people I'd not met before.

It was a 'pie party' where we could all remember two friends who died last year. Guests were asked to bring along a pie (sweet or savoury) and a bottle of fizz. The range of pies was amazing and delicious.

The fizz was plentiful but I had a slight accident when the bottle I opened simply blew off like a volcano covering me, the floor and even part of the kitchen ceiling. There was much hilarity as the general feeling seemed to be that Barbara, the woman who died in December, would have laughed like a drain.

It was good to catch up and hear how everyone was doing and meet some of their children who aren't children any more but young adults. None of us really believed that some of us had already had our 60th birthdays (mine is in a couple of years).

We heard about other friends who are having really shit times with health problems, and for me it reminded me of the importance of friendship and how valuable support - no matter how tiny the gesture - is.

In addition to investing £2 on the Grand National sweepstake I went wild and put a fiver on a horse which was being ridden by a female jockey. Didn't win anything and to be honest I had my eyes closed for most of the race.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.