My Back Yard

....rather like something out of Disney!

I took the window of opportunity today along with my roe deer, in the field at the back of the house. When the rain stopped just for a while, we came out from under cover: they from under the bushes for a light snack, me from indoors with the camera and a long lens. I knew I was fairly safe setting up the tripod as the wind was in the south so all good. This family of three I've been watching especially closely, since Mama gave birth last May. The two fawns are barely indistinguishable from her in size now but it's possible to tell who's who from their behaviour.

I do get a thrill every single time I see them. This shot was taken through a small hole in the hedge, nearly too small really but I managed to duck and dive a few twigs and branches thankfully without being seen. It rather makes up for the rest of the day which has been manic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.