Look back but don't stare

I left my little house today. I've lived there for four and a half years. I've loved my little house. Tomorrow it becomes someone else's little house.

I held on tight to friends who will always be my friends but who I won't see every day any more.

I cried and I laughed. I hugged my Cousteau and my Pio. Neither were particularly impressed.

Then I got on an aeroplane and headed to Melbourne. My new home.

I held on tight to my DB and cried and laughed some more. We both know that it's not all going to be smooth sailing; there's a lot for both of us to get used to. We stayed up late, talking and sipping single malt whisky until our eyelids became heavy.

Lots of change, but I know it'll work out.

JL, I miss you so much already. You are a true blessing in my life and I know that Cousteau is safe and happy with you. Thank you so much for being the great friend you are. I am already looking forward to our first Skype chat.

Rae, hang in there; I miss you too. You have so many exciting things ahead of you, just like I do. I can't wait to swap our stories of our new lives and to see you ever so soon.

This isn't 'goodbye', NZ, this is simply a new chapter and I look forward to you having a starring role in it.

DB and I will be visiting whenever we can. Look back but don't stare.

Onwards and upwards.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.