Still Here!

By Yorkhull

Celebrating a century

As landmarks go 100 blips marks me out as a beginner but it evokes my favourite sport, cricket, hence the blip. Scoring a century at cricket is the ultimate achievement for a batsman and in my career I reached it just three times but can remember each occasion with great pride. Last year, my son J, normally a bowler, scored his maiden century making me so proud. So to celebrate 100 blips it was the obvious choice.

I chose this bat about which there is a story. It was presented to my club, Tickhill CC, where I am now president, another deep privilege, by a club called Sandbeck on the sad occasion that they went out of business, an all too regular occurrence in the last 25 years. They presented a trophy to us and this signed bat. The signatures are of three first class counties in 1980 - Yorkshire, Lancashire and on the back Northamptonshire. It should be displayed in the club but for various reasons has lodged in my bedroom since then. So I thought I'd share it with this picture. My gardener (friend) has just done the first cut of the garden so the grass looks ok.

Thanks for all your best wishes, I only worked half a day, feel ok and hoping that the anti biotics will get rid of the infection by the end of the weekend. Busy week next week before a proper rest at Easter.

Tomorrow the collections series returns!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.