A "selfie" to treasure.

After our visit to David Bailey's exhibition "Bailey's Stardust" at the National Portrait Gallery a couple of days ago, I returned there this evening because, when bookings opened earlier this year, I managed to get one ticket for an interview, or "conversation", with Bailey which took place tonight. (My wife was disappointed that I couldn't get a second ticket.)

Bailey (everyone called him that, not "David Bailey" or "David") came across just as I had imagined him. He was direct, unassuming and quite entertaining. He does consider himself an artist (admitting to early influence from Picasso) and enjoys painting and sculpture as well as photography. He puts his success down largely to luck, seeming to be unwilling to admit that he had any special skill or talent.

After the discussion, he was quite happy to hang around chatting to members of the audience, several of whom had copies of his book of the exhibition for him to sign. He was also happy to pose for photographs, including a "selfie" with one guy, as shown here. (I did also get some photos of him without a mobile phone in the way - see here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.