Back to the North

I had an early start this morning, leaving Twyford at 7:30 am. Much to my disappointment Waitrose does not open until 8:00 am so I did not have the opportunity for a last apple strudel before heading North.

Maybe about 15 miles South of the Tebay service area there was a massive queue Southbound caused by an accident involving a jackknifed car and caravan. The caravan was on its side so it looked as though it would take a while to clear. There is no news of any casualties, so I presume everybody was alright.

I stopped for an early lunch at the Tebay Westmorland service area as usual where I took these photographs. The weather was warm but with periods of cloud. As I was leaving after lunch I noticed there was a fantastic smell coming from the BBQ which the service area had set up near the entrance to the restaurant area. It looked very tempting but I had already eaten so I resisted the temptation to be greedy.

The second half of the journey to Aberdeen was rather tedious, alleviated only by a stop for a coffee at Glendoick Garden Centre near Perth. I had nothing for an evening meal so I had to make a quick resupply stop at a supermarket on the way into Aberdeen.

I could not decide whether to publish the panorama looking towards the hotel, or the close up of some daffodils, so I combined and have shown both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.