Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Ah

I dashed out in the middle of doing an online grocery shop to get a photo before dark. It was cold and I was shivering. That's my excuse for the bad focus and I'm sticking to it.

I dashed back in and carried on shopping for a very very long time. As it's the Easter holidays we're getting through a lot more food, but also I wanted to make sure we wouldn't run out of anything before the bank holiday. So I, perhaps a bit unwisely, tried to mealplan and buy for the next 9 days. There's probably a bit of madness in my thinking because on top of all that I decided last night that our family diet has gone down the pan (ha ha...) and we - namely I - need to eat more healthily and that of course means thinking and careful meal planning. It literally took me several hours.
I'm also going to do a 14-day juice challenge - which basically means having a healthy homemade juice drink every day for 14 days and needed to get all the stuff for the first week.

Of course there are many days when it would be fine to miss taking a photo or just accept that I didn't get a decent one, but I don't work like that. If I'm doing a blipfoto entry every day, I'm doing a blipfoto entry every day. The psychologist asked if I have any obsessive behaviours or any things I just simply have to see through to the end whatever, and when I mentioned this journal she instantly recognised why I couldn't miss a day. She knew if I miss a day that would be it: it would be broken and I will feel I have failed, so I would end up giving up completely.

Talking of my brain: I wrote yet another blog post! This one was a bit more lighthearted than of late: Bashing a Square Peg into a Round Hole. It's about trying to convince people you're not wrong or broken just because you have a different way of doing things, and how no one should be forced to change. I tried to imagine a world where Asperger's was the norm and everything else was the exception. How would people who are not autistic feel about being made to change their natural behaviour to suit us and act more like us? It would be quite unreasonable to expect that wouldn't it, and yet it seems okay the other way around...

I've been waiting for a slumpy tiredness to hit me since Monday and today it finally hit.

I'd better go and rest. There is a one heck of a lot of shopping arriving tomorrow morning! I simply can't wait to put it all away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.