Those who know me ...............

............. know that I sometimes bang on about the difference between art and photography .... and the lines that become blurred between the two when it comes to post-processing - this is a very emotive subject I know and we all have the right to our own preferences and opinions.

I am a fan of trying to get it right in camera (as far as possible) with only minimal tweaks on the computer (cropping, sharpening, contrast) - I don't have photoshop, lightroom or elements - and, even if I had, I would have to spend hours and hours trying to work them out and learn how to use them and, frankly, I haven't got the patience!! :-))

Having said all that I really admire those of you with the skills to make an ordinary photo something outstanding with layers, stacking, cloning and the like - but it's just not something I do - or can do - but I love seeing your results here on blip and elsewhere. (I also love seeing the fun effects that some of you achieve and there are times I would like to be able to do those).

Just sometimes I step out of my own box and "do" something to a photograph I have taken ...... today I did just that but I only poked my toe out - not even my whole foot!

When I took this photo this morning I had it in mind to make it a silhouette so I put the vase on a stool in front of the open back door - and, as is my (bad) habit, I had forgotten to change the settings on the camera from yesterday so I didn't get the desired silhouette but this rather painting-like photograph.

The blurry background is actually the sky and the blossom on the thirty foot cherry tree at the bottom of the garden ........ all I did to the actual image was make it a square crop and give it a sharpen ....... my post-processing (shock horror) was the addition of a frame ..... all that writing just to tell you I added a frame which you can plainly see did not come from in-camera!!! Lol.

You've Been Framed ..............


Still, this may provoke some of you to offer your own opinions on whether extreme post-processing is photography or art ............ or a combination of the two.

Having said all that I am rather pleased with my framed alstroemerias and hope you like them too.

Have a Superb Sunday ......

~ Anni ~





NIKON D5200 : f/1.8 : 1/640" 50mm : ISO 100

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.