Mono Monday #9 ....

..... this week's MonoMonday challenge, set by TyWynSue (aka ffredsmum) is Metal.

This is a small, silver window hanger bought, years ago, for me by my lovely Mum ..... I like all things unicorn and dragon. It hangs in the window of my office (4th bedroom) and the crystal catches the light in the afternoon.
It measures about 3" x 2" (7.5cm x 5cm), is more delicate than it looks here - and I love it.

....... it was a b*tch to photograph though - I tried it on black, on white, on various colours but, in the end, I shortened the chain slightly so that the leaded lights on the window did not get into the photo .... I then had to crouch down a bit so that you couldn't see any of the trees or houses outside .... THEN, when I got the desired shot I realised I should have given it a quick dust!!!!
So dusted it got and then I went through all the same rigmarole and did it again ..... result!!!

Thank you all for your comments and stars on my "framed painting" yesterday - really interesting to read what you think about photography versus art and post-processing.


A bit of BOUI (term pinched from Mum)

- Rigmarole definition "a complicated and lengthy procedure"

Possible Origins :

(a) mid 18th century: apparently an alteration of ragman roll, originally denoting a legal document recording a list of offences.

(b) In medieval times, there was a game called ragman, which seems to have been like consequences but with predefined statements. It used a rolled-up scroll containing descriptions of characters, each with a string attached. Players selected a string at random, the scroll was then unrolled and the associated passage read out, to the hilarity of all present (these were simpler times). There are also some suspicions that the same system was used for a gambling game.




NIKON D5200 : f/4.5 : 1/640" : 50mm : ISO 320

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.