Return to the North

By Viking

Days like today

Tragedy strikes again - those amongst you who read the Stuff website - or see the news will have read about a hunter down here in Western Southland that was shot dead at the weekend by someone in another hunting party.
To be fair to all in involved I won't make the connection but there is sadly a very close connection to the school - which has devastated all the staff.

It will be interesting to see how the wider community deal with the tragedy. Last time it happened (about 7 years ago apparently) it divided the community about responsibility and culpability. Knowing some of the people involved this time I really hope that we can all come to terms with it and treat it as an accident. Whatever my personal view is on guns and hunting, this was a tragic accident.

I really will be glad when this term is over and I can head away for a couple of weeks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.