The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Crete, Day 5

Looking down over the road we had just come up to Arkadi monastery!

I am really enjoying the green landscape right now, as I know in a couple of months' time it will be completely parched. As I awoke this morning, I heard the swish of cars on the wet road outside our hotel. Yes, it was raining!

A drive up to the amazing but barren Arkadi monastery, high in the mountains, was followed by a lunch at Stella's kitchen in Rethymnon old town. Stella's is below Dee (Una's mother's) apartment, and the lunch there, at six Euros, is second to none. I had rice with spinach, and a sort of squid sew, with a couple of dolmades (stuffed vine leaves). Food of the Gods!

After Una had transferred herself to another, fancier hotel because her next bunch of friends is arriving today and had booked in there, we went to inspect the facilities and sit on her sofa, before heading out for the obligatory shopping for souvenirs. I have not managed to use my pre-loaded card with Euros on it, not even once, because it is too early in the season for all the card machines to be up and running. So I'm fishing around in the bottom of my luggage for sterling to change with Una. Bang goes another of my smart ideas about the best way to carry money...

Back in the Hotel Poseidon, I should be changing to go out drinking later. Instead, I am contemplating my burning ears (sunburn). Think I am running out of energy. Will try to have a couple of drinks tonight, and no more.

The child in our party, who is eleven, suddenly said today,

"I've got your personalities worked out now"

"Oh?"

"You (pointing at her mother) are really bad at navigation;
You (pointing at Janet, the Canadian member of our party) make things up, that are funny;
You (pointing at me) always have the facts;
and Una is just a crazy lady who drives without shoes on."

Out of the mouths of babes and sucklings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.