The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Crete day 6

A few days ago when my brother B took me to a mountain village with springs, we saw a sign pointing straight up the mountain that said "path to the Holy Spirit, 2 km". We were kind of sorry that we did not take it, but today we saw another type of path to spirit: the sun setting over (appropriately) the Sunset Taverna.

After a busy day of sightseeing and a giant lunch for both the McCauleys and the newly-arrived clan from the Us/Bangkok, we took a stroll around the coast road and the old town, finishing up at the taverna at 7pm. The sky was misty at first, and the sea so clear, the landscape so familiar, that I felt I was back home in my mother's home town of Oban, Scotland, but with better weather!

Gradually, as Janet, Dee, Una and I chatted, the mist was replaced by fire, and the path revealed itself over the water, finally sinking about an hour after we had arrived. We strolled back slowly, Janet and I stopping for ice cream on the way to our hotel. We are the only two of our party left in our hotel, and Janet leaves tomorrow morning. This time tomorrow, I too shall be leavin' on a jet plane.

What more can I say about Crete? I shall return once more in springtime to listen to crashing waves, smell the wild thyme, and to eat and drink under clear calm skies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.