The snog on the corner

Carl and I were sitting on high stools at a window in The Old Stand pub in town, passing time before I went on to meet a potential new member for the music group. Anxious because I was still blipless at 7.00 pm, I took a few night shots through the window. I was just about to put the camera away when I spotted this pair on the corner and just had to record the moment.

Carl wandered off for a bit of shopping when I went on to meet the new guy, and joined us for the tail-end of our chat after getting s few Christmassy bits and pieces. After that, it was time for a bite to eat. Since we were where we were and it was all a bit wet and miserable, we decided to pop into somewhere close. Unfortunately, we opted for SoHo, on the corner of George's Street and Exchequer Street. Never again. It's a glorified burger joint, really, and ridiculous pricey for what's on offer. My celeriac and beetroot soup sounded interesting, but it was all a bit bland (the accompanying toast was good). Carl's grilled goat's cheese starter was all a bit much (a too-big round of cheese on top of what looked like a pancake), and he didn't do much better with his main course (pork belly, far too fatty). I chose a burger. It was a double-bruger, actually. The accompanying fries weren't great, and it was a bit sad to see off-the0shelf bottle of sauce brought to the table rather than something just a little bit classy.

We didn't bother with dessert or coffee.

(p.s. I've done some back-blipping, starting here.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.