Left-over rain

<rant>
I needed to be back home reasonably early, since I'd missed the UPS guy yesterday, and didn't want that to happen again. That meant, though, that I was caught in the morning rush hour making my way across from Carl's place to mine. It wasn't too bad at first, but then things ground to a halt around Blackrock and it took a good 55 minutes to get from there to Merrion Gates (which is not a very great distance, for those not familiar with the geography). We advanced in starts and stops, with the starts generally only progressing by one car's length.

All this time, of course, we (as in the long-suffering motorists) were confined to half the road only, with the other half reserved as a bus lane. Now I've nothing against bus lanes in principle, but I just can't understand the thinking of our city fathers who allocate half the road for half the day to a bus service which is utterly inadequate. During this 55 minutes, two buses came along in the direction I was going -- and these two came together. I am oh so glad that I don't have to cope with this commute experience on a daily basis. As for the bus lanes: if the idea is to encourage motorists to switch from car to bus, then there's no way whatever that this morning's goings-on would encourage anyone to do that.
</rant>

Anyway ... Because I've been so busy lately, I've fallen a bit behind with my daily walks, which have been far from daily for a while now. I was feeling a bit guilty around lunch time and decided to walk grab a break, walk to Killester DART station and grab a DART somewhere there'd be a decent walking opportunity. I got a ticket to Sutton, but changed my mind while on the train and got off at Raheny (only two stops, for goodness' sake!). I walked a bit of a circuit down to and along the seafront and back to the DART station -- actually quite a decent walk, especially when combined with the bit to and from home. It was while waiting at Killester that I noticed this seat on the platform, still showing the signs of last night's rain. It's just as well I took the time to get this shot, because the battery ran out soon afterwards and I'd forgotten to bring my spare with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.