Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Good Friday / Visa Run #???

Got home so late last night, I didn't blip until this morning. Had a quiet at home day marking Good Friday. It started with Pauline bringing us hot cross buns first thing - just like my Dad always did! G put on the DVD of "The Robe" which was very apt and very moving in parts!

A visa run is due again so we headed out than normal to try and catch a sunset over the mountains. Glad of the decision, as the roads were a lot less busy and there were hardly any queues anywhere, so round trip done in just under 4 hours - and that included at least 3 photo stops. Make that 4.

My blip today (changed at the very last minute) actually has to do with Good Friday. I just happened to have taken this picture as I was waiting for G to get her exit stamp. It reminds me of the lyrics of a song by my most favourite artist ever - Rich Mullins...

You Did Not Have A Home

. . . Birds have nest,
Foxes have dens,
But the hope of the whole world rests
On the shoulders of a homeless man...
.
.
.
You had no stones to throw.
You came without an axe to grind;
you did not tow the party line.
No wonder sight came to the blind;
you had no stones to throw.


There is a version here; it is the raw demo recorded just 10 days before he was tragically killed in a car accident. Last year, I visited Guildford Cathedral for the first time on Good Friday and attended a service in a church that was several hundred years old (with no signs of heating!!) The contrast couldn't be more different!

I'm sorry but I can't help ending with this verse from Romans 5:8... "But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us."

Hope you've all had a special/reflective day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.