intothehills

By intothehills

Viaduct

I originally leant over the rail as I was struck by the strength of the shadow cast onto the vibrant hillside. As I leant out I could see that the top of the rail was reflecting the sky dramatically - but I was still shocked how 'alive' the colours came out in this once I got it up onto the monitor.
The viaduct was built in 1860 - but restored in the 1990's as part of a heritage trail. The area is fascinating - the trail follows an old rail track that went to the lime kilns just visible in the distance on the right - yet the viaduct is built predominantly from millstone grit taken from small quarries on the left side of the picture - the valley and river marking the shift in geology. This gives the area an abundance of wildlife - the Peacocks were the first butterflies out today - but soon the Scotch Argus should appear - the only place left in England that they inhabit. Fox scat was everywhere - I suspect they're having a fine old time with all the game birds that are nesting on top of the moor.
If this weather is due to stay for the whole long weekend its going to make resting very difficult indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.