Tumbling Waters

Today's been another day at home, the fine weather offering the opportunity to get the lawns cut and to air the house.

After seeing to the grass, I decided to hop over the stile have a walk along the river edge. The recent heavy rain had caused some debris to collect along our fence line, including our storm water outfall pipe on the river bank, so it was necessary to clean out some of the detritus to allow free drainage.

Whilst I was on the river's edge, I set up my tripod to capture the still swollen waters tumbling over rocks in the main river as well as the small feeder stream that winds down from the flanks of Mount Herbert.

To help get the silky flow, I shot this with a ND8 filter and stopped down to allow a long exposure.

Thanks for all the lovely comments on yesterday's lakeside sunset shot and for sending it to the spotlight. I'm glad so many of you were enchanted by the last light over Lake Ellesmere/Te Waihora.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.