Abandoned Amongst the Holly in Little River

This old cottage sits alongside the Akaroa Highway on the outskirts of Little River, opposite St John the Evangelist, the Catholic Church that sustained terrible damage during the 2010 and 2011 Earthquakes.

I've always wanted to get a close up of this old place, so today I parked up by the church and crossed the road so I could get this low wide angle shot underneath the neighbouring holly tree.

It was good to get out to Little River today and to have a look in the gallery. There's a wonderful exhibition there at the moment, 'Light Effect' by Philip Beadle which is well worth a look. His impressionist oils of Bank Peninsula landscapes appealed to the landscape photographer in me; his capturing of light is very photographic in character I've also shot at some of the locations too, and I can see them in my minds eye in the light that Philip has captured them. Impressive stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.