Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

The Colony, Dennistoun Bush

After a rainy drive home last night, the drizzle continued in the forest for most of the day. But with a break in the weather, I decided to quickly head across the road into the bush to see what fungi I could shoot.

Recent forays into the bush have taught me that fungi pop up quickly after rain, and I didn't have to go far before I found a whole bunch of amazing little dioramas like this one.

These tiny little mycena fungi are only about 10mm across and will have a short time in which to release their spores before whithering into nothing as the rain recedes.

Big thanks to all those who commented, starred and favourited yesterday's twilight shot on Lyttelton Harbour at the old Governor's Bay Wharf. I was all set to post it in B&W until Mrs H said she preferred it in colour. Good call Mrs H!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.