Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Tilt and Shift

I decided to experiment today with the easy part of the tilt and shift feature, i.e. shift. This is what was called 'rising front' on some of the cameras I used in the early days (Thornton Pickard and Baby Sibyl - I should add that both these cameras pre-dated me by quite some years!). None of the shots today demanded a shift lens, but were just experiments/learning photos. I did intend to use it also to shoot a panorama, but I didn't get around to doing that. Tilt is going to much more challenging.

Shot with the GX7 and a tilt/shift adapter which allows me to use my existing 20mm Nikon lens on micro four thirds (or those cameras like the GX7 where the pseudo-prism hump does not prevent this adapter being mounted). I bought this lens in the early days of digital, for the D100, when there were no 18-??? lenses available, and the 24-85 which was available left me very limited for wide angle work. This is the 'Kipon T&S NIK-m4/3' adapter - apart from significant limitations regarding mounting it on the OM-Ds and Panasonic G and GH models (due to the forward projection of the viewfinder hump on those cameras), I'm quite impressed by this adapter, if you have legacy Nikon full-frame lenses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.